Search and verify licenses

Arizona Cannabis and Marijuana License

Presently, medical use of cannabis is legal in 36 states of the US. In addition, marijuana use for recreational purposes is legal in 19 states. One of these states is Arizona.

Legalization of Marijuana in Arizona

Now, marijuana is legal for both medical and recreational use in Arizona. However, the legalization process was not that easy. There were rejections as well. For example, Arizona failed to legalize the use of cannabis as a medicine in 2002. In its turn, cannabis for recreational use failed in 2016.

Arizona legalized marijuana for medical purposes only in 2010. While the use of marijuana for recreational purposes became available only in 2020.

The first licensed sale of cannabis as a medicine was in 2012. In terms of recreational cannabis, it happened only 9 years after. So, the first licensed sale took place in January 2021.

Though the use of cannabis is legal in Arizona, there are still some restrictions applying to its use.

Restrictions in Marijuana Medical Use in Arizona

There are restrictions on the amount of marijuana medical use. The law doesn’t permit to buy more than two and a half ounces of medical cannabis. This is the limit for two weeks. Furthermore, the cannabis concentrate shouldn’t exit twelve and a half grams.

You can’t use cannabis while driving. The use in public is also forbidden.

There’s no age restriction. But there are different permission cards. They are based on the patient’s age.

Violation of these laws is considered a minor crime.

Restriction in Recreational Marijuana Use

Unlike the medical use of marijuana, there is an age restriction on the recreational use of marijuana. Only adults 21 years or older can use marijuana for pleasure.

Only possessing a certain amount of marijuana is allowed. It shouldn’t be higher than one ounce of marijuana. Moreover, it should contain more than five grams of marijuana.

You can’t use recreational cannabis while driving. There’s no permission also for public use.

Violating these laws is a minor crime.

Getting your Arizona Medical Marijuana License

Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS)  is responsible for giving Arizona medical marijuana licenses. Particularly, the responsibility lies in the Division of Licensing.

What medical conditions are qualified for Medical Marijuana License?

Having, at least, one disease is necessary to get a license card. The disease should be listed by the Arizona Department of Health. The list of medical conditions can include:

  1. Cancer
  2. Human Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV)
  3. Acquired Immune Deficiency Syndrome (AIDS)
  4. Hepatitis C

Besides, there may be some other conditions as well.

What documents do I need for my Medical Marijuana License?

It is necessary to provide some documents for getting a license card. After, you can be qualified for a medical card.

The documents you may need are the following:

  1. Photo Identification
    As in the case of Arizona driver’s license, it should be issued by the state of Arizona. Your real name should be written there. Age is also an important factor.The photo identification must be valid. It should also resemble your current look.
  1. Doctor’s letter
    It should include the description of your diagnosis. In its turn, it will provide the necessity of marijuana. For instance, the use of marijuana helps to relieve pain.The letter should be current. It should also be signed by an authorized doctor.

How can I apply for Medical Marijuana Card?

For getting the card you can apply directly in the portal. You can follow the Individual Application and Portal Guide. It will guide you through the application process.

The guide will explain the application process step by step. It will start with the guide to the portal. You will understand how to sign up in the portal. Then, the guide will tell you how to submit the application. Furthermore, the are pictures visualizing the whole process. It will make the process easier.

There is also some portal designed to consult you. It will help you to understand your chances of getting a card. The name of the portal is Affordable Certification. You will have video meetings with doctors. They may also help in documentation procedures.

There are also differences in the application according to age groups. Patients older than 18 years should check Adult Patient’s Application. While patient under the age of 18 should check the Patient Under 18 Application.

Fee for Medical Marijuana Card

The fee for the card is $150. Meanwhile, the fee for food stamps is $75.

It is valid for 2 years. After, you will need to renew your card. The medical marijuana card renewal fee is also $150.

Getting Arizona License for Growing and Selling Marijuana

Marijuana businesses for producing or selling it should get a license. It is a must in Arizona.

In this case, you should again apply to the ADHS.

First of all, you should get a dispensary license. It is necessary to be qualified as a marijuana grower in Arizona.  A marijuana dispensary license can also include a marijuana cultivation license. It is, however, optional. You don’t have to be a marijuana grower if you want to be just a dispensary.

Currently, there are 125 marijuana dispensaries in Arizona. But the quantity tends to rise. There is data suggesting the number of dispensaries. Cannabis dispensaries will reach up to 169 in near future.

Now, state of Arizona licenses

  1. Distributors of cannabis products
  2. Growers of marijuana
  3. Retail stores of marijuana
  4. Product manufacturers of marijuana
  5. Extraction services of cannabis products

There’s also a “dual license” you can apply for. This license type is for organizations having 2 licenses. They should be issued by the ADHS. This license includes a marijuana establishment license. As well as a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary license.

What do you need to be a licensed cannabis dispensary in Arizona?

There are some steps you need to take. These steps are essential. They will help you to become a licensed cannabis dispensary. Let’s look through these steps:

  1. Make your business a legal organization.
  2. Set up the company’s structure, procedures, and management.
  3. Provide a business plan. It should include a job description, revenue predictions, and so on.
  4. Decide the exact location for your business.
  5. Provide the proper information. It should include information about investors and directors.
  6. Prove that you are the owner of the alleged dispensary.
  7. Get approval from your local jurisdiction.

How much does it cost to operate as a cannabis dispensary in Arizona?

Starting a cannabis dispensary business will not be cheap. Definitely, you will need a lot of money. It is expensive even to get a license to operate.

The fee for a marijuana establishment license is $25,000. In addition, you will pay $2,500 for the site to grow marijuana. Moreover, you will need to renew the license every year. The annual renewal fee is $5,000.

For only operating as a dispensary you will pay $5,000. The renewal fee is $1,000. If you want to change the location the fee is $2,500. The same $2,500 will apply to the change of cultivation location.

Becoming a licensed Arizona cannabis grower will cost you $7,500.

Note: All the fees are non-refundable.

Marijuana Facility Agent Licenses

Do you want to work in marijuana dispensaries? Then, you will need a marijuana facility agent (FA) license. The certification started on January 19, 2021.

Marijuana facility agents should be at least 21 years old. This type of license is for those who are working in cannabis establishment facilities. You will need this certificate for volunteering as well.

A facility agent license is necessary to operate. For example, you can work as a board member or principal officer there.

In order to work as a facility agent, you will need:

  1. Submit a completed application.
  2. Provide your fingerprint card. You should have 1 fingerprint clearance card. It should be the current level.

There are different applications forms you need to submit.

  1. Attestation of Facility Agent
  2. Checklist of Facility Agent. It describes the registration process for new facility agents.
  3. Instructions for Fingerprinting. Note, that it may change from time to time. So, you need to always check ADHS’s official website.
  4. Verification Form for Fingerprinting. This form is for fingerprint technicians. He/she should complete it. Afterward, you submit it as a part of your documentation.
  5. FBI Privacy Act Statement

A FA card will be valid for 2 years.

Manush K

Manush considers writing as a form of art. Mixing facts with good grammar and the right punctuation is not enough for having unique content. She is sure, that you can't be a good writer if you are not able to leave the traces of your individuality in your work. She is a freelance content writer, translator, and voice talent in Upwork. She also works as a freelance writer on wizardwriters.com and has written many academic essays and literature reviews. Her educational background in social studies and linguistics give her the chance to find the right approach for each written material.

US License Lookup by State

US
License
Lookup
by
State