Before you start your application for a marriage license in Arizona, you must take into account that Arizona has its own laws and requirements. However, in Arizona, the process is simpler and with few requirements.
So before starting your application, check the requirements.
First of all, you and your partner must both be 18 or older. And you must have a valid ID on the application day. You must also take into account that both of you must be present when obtaining a license.
In fact, you don’t need to be a U.S resident to apply for a license. If you just liven in Arizona you can freely apply for the license without any restrictions.
Arizona does not also require you to pass any medical tests
First, when you want to start your application process, you and your partner must complete and sign the state application form. Then you both need to visit Oro Valley Magistrate Court and submit your application. If you have planned a wedding ceremony, you don’t need to wait. You can organize it on the same day when you receive your license.
When you are on the court, you must pay the required amount of $83 and give all your documents to the clerk or cashier. They will check your documents till you wait for the ceremony. You must also have two witnesses, who are at least 18 years old, with you on that day.
Whenever you get your license, your officiant must give it to the Justice of the Peace, clergyman, or another authorized person to sign it within 30 days. If you don’t give the license to them, you will not be considered legally married.
In Arizona, you must be at least 18 years old to get a marriage license. However, under certain conditions, persons aged 16-17 can seek a marriage license with their parent’s permission.
In Arizona, you only need to pay $83 for a marriage license. In fact, you may pay extra fees in some cases, but the regular fee is $83.
The license expires in 12 months after you obtain it. If you have not held the wedding ceremony before your license expires, you will need to apply for a new license.
In case you want the certified copy of your marriage license, you will need to pay additional $30 dollars each time you apply for the copy. If you visit the court your license copy will be given to you in a day. In case you apply online, your license will be ready in few days. You will get it by mail.
Note that you will have to pay also $7 in case you haven’t sent a stamped envelope with the request.
You can make payments in cash or via a bank account.
If you receive the license, you can get married that same day at the courthouse by a certified officiant. However, you are free to choose another day to have your ceremony.
Generally, a member of the clergy, a judge, a magistrate, or clerks of the courts can perform your marriage ceremony.
Note that the officiant must give the marriage to the clerk of the Superior Court to sign within 20 days.
When you obtain a marriage license, you must have two witnesses with you. They must be at least 18 years old. On the wedding day, they will sign your license. Your marriage officiant must also sign the license.
In Arkansas only the following individuals can be your marriage officiants:
Many individuals change their names after they get married. In Arkansas also you can change your last name to the name of your partner after the marriage. Your new name will appear on your marriage license.
But to legally change your last name you will have to apply for changing it. It is more convenient to apply for a name change on the same day you apply for a license. You will also need to change your documents with your new name.
Arizona offers covenant marriage licenses. To obtain a covenant marriage license, you must first complete marriage counseling. After it, you must provide documentation of completion.
The application you fill out and sign is legally binding and declares your intentions.
You can marry your cousin in Arizona if you and your partner are both at least 65 years old.
In case you are under 65, you will have to bring medical proof that you cannot give birth.
The marriage license is a document with which you can apply to marry your partner in Alaska. Your marriage certificate, in fact, is proof that you are married and it is valid until the end of your life.
Your marriage license is valid only in Arizona.
No. Arizona doesn’t offer proxy marriages. You will need to be present the day when you receive your license. Both sides must also be present on their wedding ceremony day.
Same-sex marriage is legal in Arizona, as in the other states of the U.S. Thus, you are free to marry someone of the same gender as you. Arizona applies all the same regulations and stipulations as opposite-sex couples. No need to take special steps to have your license and marry a partner of your gender.
Marriage Records in the state of Arizona are typically open to the public.
In Arizona, you can request copies of marriage records when you need them. You will just need to contact the clerk of the superior court. It must be the county of Arizona where the marriage took place.
You will also need to pay an additional fee to receive the copies.